The 1st Chakra – The Root Chakra – Muladhara

1muladharaThe Root Chakra is located at the base of the spine at the tailbone. This chakra is associated with the element earth and it represents survival, security and stability. It is the foundation of the entire chakra system, as it is the lowest of all the chakras on the body.

All material and worldy things are represented by the first chakra: the body, the earth, material and money. This chakra helps us to manifest the physical items which we need to stay alive and healthy.

The color Red is associated with the 1st chakra. Of all the colors, red has the longest 1-Muladhara Chakra-goddess-Dakiniwavelength (700-635 nm) and slowest vibration (430-480THz) in the visible spectrum. The Muladhara Chakra deity is Goddess Dakini.

In order to be fully balanced and stable, we must be strong in our root chakra or first center. The base chakra emits a white light from its center. The symbol for Muladhara is a four petal lotus flower. The number four is representative of the four directions of the earth – north, south, east and west. It also represents a strong foundation.

Muladhara Chakra – Bija Mantra Lam (sounds like lom)

Listen to the Bija Mantras: Swami Jnaneshvara Bharati – Chakra Bija Mantras

Bija Mantras.

In the Muladhara Chakra there is a triangle in the middle of the four pointed square. This triangle points down representing the downward, earth and grounding force of the root chakra.

The Root Chakra is the home of Shakti Kundalini, or the serpent coiled three and a half times at the base of the spine. Kundalini is the name given to the goddess serpent representing the powerful Shakti energy. 

The practice of yoga and meditation purifies the chakras and nadis. The desire of the soul to know its true Self and unite with God is what stirs the Kundalini Shakti to awaken, slowly uncoil and make her way up the chakras, opening each as she rises to the crown chakra. The Kundalini Shakti has all of the energies of the five elements within her, and is the protector or guardian of the awakened soul.

When the soul experiences intense desire for union with God/Goddess, the kundalini stirs as increased prana (light) enters the subtle channels. As the soul awakens to the real Self, the Shakti Kudalini rises up the central subtle channel (Sushumna) to protect the Christ anchored within the heart of the soul. The soul knows its true identity and experiences oneness with the universal Christ Mind of God/Goddess. This is called enlightenment or Christ consciousness. In every level of spiritual attainment there is always an ever-expanding state of awareness.

The Muladhara Chakra is an important center for grounding to maintain balance in your life. Having a strong connection to the earth provides a solid foundation for experiencing the energies of all of the chakras. 

Blocks in the Root Chakra

Blocks in the root chakra are associated with fear, anxiety, instability and insecurity. The adrenal glands operate under the Muladhara Chakra system and therefore the “flight or fight” system of reaction may be over reactive whenever changes come. 

The blocks in the first chakra are usually the hardest to work through.  In order to break through these blocks, it is important to practice grounding with the earth element. Grounding involves learning how to be in and accept the here and now, the present moment, and the ever changing world around us. 


Yoga Poses to Work on the 1st Chakra

Standing poses, poses which stretch the legs and feet, and poses in which the feet are firmly planted on the ground will work on the first chakra. While in a pose in which the feet are on the ground, really feel as though your feet have roots and you are firmly planted and stable on the ground.




Sanscrit name: Muladhara (root)1-Muladhara-4

Location: Base of spine, at the seat of Kundalini

Symbol: A circle surrounded by four lotus petals with a square inside it.

Central issue: Survival, stability, acceptance, self-preservation, deep-rootedness, perception, grounding, fear and safety

Color: Red

Essential oils: Patchouli, cedarwood, sandalwood

Crystals and Stones: Garnet, Ruby, Agate, Onyx, Haematite, Red Jasper, Black Tourmaline, Smoky Quartz, Bloodstone, Red Coral;

Stars and Astrological signs: Planets Mars, Pluto, and Saturn; Signs of Aries, Taurus, Scorpio, and Capricorn;

Sound or mantra: Lam (sounds like lom)

Sense: Smell

Body: The physical body

Orientation to self: Self-preservation

Goals: Stability, grounding, physical health, prosperity, trust

Rights: To be here, to have

Developmental stage: Womb to 12 months1-Muladhara-33

Identity: Physical identity

Level of relationship: Tribal

Demon: Fear

Element: Earth

Hormonal glands: Sexual and adrenal

Organs: Immune system, base of spine, legs, bones and bone marrow, feet, rectum, physical body support

Excessive: Sluggish, lazy, tired, monotony, obesity, overeating, hoarding, materialism, greed, Fear of change, addiction to security

Deficient: Fearful, anxious, restless, lack of discipline, underweight, financial difficulty Chronic disorganization

Balanced: Good health, vitality, well grounded, sense of trust in the world, feeling safe and secure, stability, prosperity, ability to relax

Physical Dysfunctions: Frequent illness, disorders of the bowel, large intestine, bones, teeth, problems with legs and feet, base of spine, chronic lower back pain, eating disorders; depression; immune-related disorders; skin problems; lack of energy;

Addictions: Food, gambling, shopping, work

Traumas and Abuses: Birth trauma, abandonment, physical neglect, poor physical bonding with the mother, malnourishment, feeding difficulty, major illnes or surgery, physical abuse, inherited traumas, war, poverty

Spiritual challenge: Manage the physical world and all of its challenges

HEALING STRATEGY: Physical activity, lots of touch, massage, reconnect with the body,grounding, Hatha yoga, look at earliest childhood relationship to mother, reclaim your right to be here


It is safe to me to be here.1-Muladhara-5

The earth supports me and meets my needs.

I love my body and trust its wisdom.

I am interested in abundance.

I am here and I am real.

I trust my Higher Self fulfills all my needs. My life is full of prosperity.

> The 2nd Chakra – The Sacral Chakra – Svadhisthana