The 2nd Chakra – The Sacral Chakra – Swadhisthana

2SwadhisthanaThe Sacral Chakra is in the sacral plexus area located in the lower abdominal. This chakra is associated with the element water and it represents desire, pleasure, sexuality and procreation. As we move up the chakra system, we change from the 1st chakra which is solid, formed earth to the 2nd chakra which is liquid, formless and ever-changing water. 

The Swadhisthana Chakra; also spelled Svadhisthana; represents change, fluctuation and movement.  Even it’s location in the body is related to movement. The sacral plexus is a collection of nerves located in the lower spine which control movement in the legs and pelvis.

This chakra is associated with the color orange. The color orange has the second longest wavelength (635 nm) and second slowest frequency (480THz) in the visual color spectrum.

Swadhisthana Chakra – Bija Mantra Vam (sounds like vom)

Listen to the Bija Mantras: Swami Jnaneshvara Bharati – Chakra Bija Mantras

Bija Mantras.

The Swadhisthana Chakra emits violet and ruby light.
This is the chakra of emotion, sexuality, and2-swadhisthana - 1 pleasure.

The symbol for the Swadhisthana Chakra is a six petal lotus flower. There are also two lotus petals within the large six-petal lotus. This chakra is related to the moon. The moon, with it’s ever changing cycle, pulls on the tides of the earth creating subtle changes on earth’s residents. It is dark, mysterious and full of emotion.and nurture.

All of these things are fluid and ever-changing. This constant change is at once the source of pleasure and the source of pain. The Swadhisthana Chakra deity is Goddess Rakini.

Blocks in the Sacral Chakra

Blocks in the second center can lead to loss of creativity, low sexual energy, a feeling 2-swadhisthana Goddess is Rakiniof dullness, loss of emotion, and depression. It’s easy to get trapped in the second chakra by overindulging in pleasurable things such as food, drugs, alcohol, or sex. People can be stuck in the second center by not channeling their desires properly. The Swadhisthana Chakra deity is Goddess Rakini.

The key to opening the second chakra is to maintain balance when it comes to pleasurable, worldly things. Do not deny, but do not overindulge either. Choose the middle of the way.

Another way to get stuck in the second chakra is by suppressing emotions. Emotion itself 2-swadhisthana Goddess is Rakini-2is fluid – it’s ever changing and dynamic properties are perfectly represented by water. Emotions travel, by moving from the atmosphere around us, to the subconscious within us, through the conscious mind, and back out into the atmosphere in whatever way we give them off. It’s very important to keep this movement flowing. However, many people will suppress their emotions in the subconscious level. Feeling emotion can be painful, and these people choose to keep it bottled up rather than let it out and feel it’s effects.

Although this may work temporarily, it will cause problems in the future. Emotions which are stuck in the subconscious will manifest themselves in other ways – be it anger, fear, anxiety, or hatred. Meditation is an excellent way to work through emotions and allow them to rise to the surface. Students who practice the Violet Fire decrees for transmutation of mis-qualified energy benefit very quickly, especially when the decrees are given with inner visualization and concentration techniques.

Yoga Poses to Work the Second Chakra

Poses which work the hips and lower abdomen are excellent for opening the second chakra.




Sanscrit name: Svadhisthana (sweetness)

Location: Lower abdomen2-swadhisthana - 3

Symbol: A circle surrounded by five or six lotus petals.

Central issue: Sexuality, emotions, financial, creativity,

codes of honour and ethics

Color: Orange

Essential Oils: Rosemary, juniper, sandalwood, jasmine, rose, ylang-ylang

Crystals and Stones: Amber, Citrine, Topaz, Moonstone, Fire Agate, Orange Spinel, Fire Opal;

Stars and Astrological Signs: Moon, Planets Venus and Pluto, and the signs of Libra, Cancer, and Scorpio;

Sound or mantra: Vam (sounds like vom)

Sense: Touch and taste

Body: Ethereal body

Orientation to self: Self-gratification

Goals: Pleasure, healthy sexuality, feeling2-swadhisthana - 5

Rights: To feel, to want

Developmental stage: 6 to 24 months

Identity: Emotional identity

Level of relationship: One-on-one

Demon: Guilt

Element: Water

Hormonal gland: Pancreas

Organs: Sexual organs, large intestine, lower vertebrae, pelvis, the kidneys, appendix, bladder, prostate, hip area, the lymphatic system, all the body fluids;

Excessive: Sexual, pleasure addiction; excessively sensitive and strong emotions; invasion of others, seductive manipulation; obsessive attachment; emotional dependency.

Deficient: Poor social skills; frigidity, fear of sex, lack of desire, passion, excitement, denial of pleasure; fear of change; rigidity in attitudes

Balanced: Graceful movements; emotional intelligence; ability to experience pleasure; 2-swadhisthana - 4nurture of self and others; ability to change; healthy boundaries

Physical Dysfunctions: Sexual dysfunctions; sexual problems; dysfunctions of reproductive organs, spleen, urinary system; loss of appetite for food, sex, life; chronic lower back pain

Addictions: Alcohol, sex, heroin, lethargy

Traumas and Abuses: Sexual, emotional abuse, neglect, rejection, emotional manipulation, physical abuse, alcoholic families, denial of child’s feelings, inherited (untreated incest, sexual issues)

Spiritual challenges: Negative one-to-one control patterns need to be confronted

HEALING STRATEGY: Movement therapy, emotional release, inner childe work, boundary work, assign healthy pleasures, develop sensate intelligence


I accept and acknowledge my sexuality.

I absorb information from my feelings.My physical health is strong and pure.

I deserve pleasure in my life.

Life is pleasurable.

I move easily and effortlessly.

> The 3rd Chakra – The Navel Chakra – Manipura