The 3rd Chakra – The Solar Plexus Chakra – Manipura

3manipuraThe Manipura Chakra is located in the solar plexus or the abdomen. This chakra is associated with the element fire and it represents will, power, digestion and assertiveness.

The 1st chakra is solid. The 2nd chakra is change and movement. When solid matter is rubbed together using movement, the result is fire and energy – just as two sticks rubbed together create a fire. 

The Manipura Chakra represents transformation and overcoming inertia. It has been called the “fire in the belly.” This fire, or will power, gives us the energy to change, grow, and act in our lives. The physical body needs survival which is represented by the 1st chakra. The ability to move and change is represented by the 2nd chakra. The 3rd chakra is spark and power to move our bodies into action.

Manipura Chakra – Bija Mantra Ram (sounds like rom)

Listen to the Bija Mantras: Swami Jnaneshvara Bharati – Chakra Bija Mantras

Bija Mantras.

This chakra is associated with the color yellow. The color yellow has the third longest wavelength (570 nm) and third slowest frequency (530THz) in the visual color spectrum. This chakra emits a lavendar light from its center.

In a very real sense, the navel or abdominal area is representative of transformation. It is in the belly that food (solids – 1st chakra) are digested (movement – 2nd chakra) and turned into energy for the body (metabolism – 3rd chakra).  Additionally, all bodily movements related to the abdominal muscles. 

The symbol for the Manipura Chakra is a ten petal lotus flower. Additionally, there is a downward pointing red triangle in the center of the symbol representing fire.

Blocks in the Navel Chakra

Blocks in the third center can lead to low levels of energy, motivation, low self-esteem, 3-Manipura chakra goddess lakinidifficulty making decisions and feeling powerless. Being stuck in the third chakra makes it difficult to move forward in life. The Deity of the Manipura Chakra is Goddess Lakini.

In order to open the third chakra it takes will power. The student needs to take personal responsibility for their life and current situation. Everyone in this world has a purpose. Doubt and fear are emotions which block the third chakra. Search inside for inner direction from the Divine source and find the right path of action to follow.

Breath of Fire to Open the Third Chakra

Breath of Fire is a Kundalini Yoga breathing technique. You can perform this energizing breath on its own or while holding nearly any yoga pose. Basic technique is to breath in and out quickly for a couple of minutes.

Yoga Poses to Work the Third Chakra

Poses which strengthen and stretch the abdominal muscles are perfect for opening the third chakra.



Sanscrit name: Manipura ( lustrous gem )

Location: Solar plexus, below the diaphragm

Symbol: A circle surrounded by ten lotus petals, and inside it a triangle3-Manipura ChakraRTEmagicC_CH_Manipura-klein_03

Central issue: Power, self-esteem, self-image, energy, will, responsibility

Color: Yellow

Essential Oils: Juniper, lavender, bergamot, rosemary

Crystals and Stones: Citrine, amber, tiger’s eye, peridot,, yellow tourmaline, yellow topaz

Stars and Astrological Signs: Sun, the planets Mercury, Jupiter, Mars and the signs of Leo, Sagittarius and Virgo

Sound or mantra: Ram (sounds like rom)

Sense: Sight

Body: The subtle body (astral body)

Orientation to self: Self definition

Goals: Vitality, purpose, strength of will, vitality, spontaneity

Rights: To act and be an individual

Developmental stage: 18 months to 4 years

Identity: Ego identity

Level of relationship: Basic relationship with inner self

Demon: Shame

Element: Fire

Hormonal glands: The pancreas and the adrenal

Organs: The respiratory system and diaphragm, the digestive system, stomach, liver, gallbladder, kidney, pancreas, adrenal glands, spleen, the small intestine, the lower back, the sympathetic nervous system

Excessive: Overly aggressive, dominating, controlling, blaming, arrogance, manipulative, power hungry, stubbornness, hyperactivity, excessively ambitious and competitive

Deficient: Low energy, weak will, poor self-esteem, passive, sluggish, fearful, poor self-discipline, emotionally and physically cold, victim mentality, blaming of others, unreliable, poor digestion

Balanced: Feeling of tranquillity and inner harmony, self-acceptance, respect for the nature and emotions of others, feeling of unity with the rest of humanity, responsible, reliable, confidence, spontaneity, sens of humour, able to meet challenges

Physical Dysfunctions: Arthritis, digestive disorders, ulcers, colon and intestinal problems, anorexia or bulimia, pancreatitis, diabetes, gallstone, allergies, problems with the stomach and liver

Addictions: Amphetamines, cocaine, over stimulation in diet, work, anger

Traumas and abuses: Shaming, authoritarianism, physical abuse, fear of punishment, dangerous environment, age inappropriate responsibilities, inherited shame from parents

Spiritual challenges: Maturation of the ego

HEALING STRATEGY: Risk taking, grounding, emotional contact, deep relaxation, stress control, vigorous exercise, sit-ups, psychotherapy (release or contain anger, build ego strength, work on shame issues, strengthen will)


I can do whatever I will to do.

I honour the power within me.

I accomplish tasks easily and effortlessly.

In a smooth and healthy way, I release all unresolved emotions.

I claim my personal power.

The 4th Chakra – The Heart Chakra – Anahata