aumsm..The Seventh Chakra – Sahasrara


7-chakra-sahasrara 6The Sahasrara Chakra is located at the top of the head. It is associated with wisdom, understanding and comprehension. 

This chakra represents the sun and the energy of Shiva (male principle). It is considered the seat of enlightenment for the union of the soul with God/Goddess. Each of the chakras are associated with a form of interaction with the world around us. 

The seventh chakra is associated with knowledge and through wisdom true enlightenment is obtained. According to the principles of yoga, the practice of the asanas, meditation, and pranayama prepare the student for experiencing union with God/Goddess. The study of spiritual scripture and devotional prayer and mantras also assist the student to achieve enlightenment. Yoga practice brings health benefits to the physical body, joy and fulfillment to the emotional body, balance and clarity to the mental body and union with the true Self for the spirit body. 

Sahasrara Chakra – Bija Mantra AUM (sounds like Om)

Listen to the Bija Mantras: Swami Jnaneshvara Bharati – Chakra Bija Mantras

Bija Mantras.7-chakra-sahasrara 8

The Sahasrara Chakra works with the pituitary gland in the brain. The pituitary gland controls several key bodily functions such as growth, blood pressure, water balance, and thyroid function. Just as the pituitary gland has a direct effect on essential bodily functions, the 7th chakra has a direct effect on all previous chakras before it.

When the crown chakra is fully activated, it has no physical or worldly boundaries. The crown chakra is a direct connection to our higher superconscious mind. The center of the crown chakra is called the bindu. The 7th chakra transcends space and time, providing limitless possibilities.


chakras-shaktiananda-yogaThe crown chakra performs two functions: worldly and otherworldly. In the worldly sense, your energy moves downward from the 7th chakra down to the 1st chakra. In this way, we move our lives forward by thinking, acting, giving and receiving.

Many things which happen in life are experienced unconsciously. Activating the crown chakra assists us to have acute awareness and a better understanding in our life. This ensures that we are expressing our creativity for a better manifestation.

Manifestation begins in the 7th chakra – it is here that we first imagine or think of something we may want, need, or expect.

In the 6th chakra we hold that thought, see it (mentally), and allow it to become real to us. In the remaining chakras we begin to act on our thought to make it a reality. We do this by communicating (5th chakra), inspiration (4th chakra), doing (3rd chakra), creating (2nd chakra), and finally manifesting into reality (1st chakra).

In order to experience the otherworldly purpose of the crown chakra, our energy will move upwards to the heavens and beyond. By redirecting our energy upwards, we can experience the transcendence and bliss of enlightenment.

This brow chakra is associated with the color violet. The symbol for the 7th Chakra is a 1,000 petal white lotus flower. In Hinduism, the number 0 represents infinity. Therefore, 1,000 represents infinity to the utmost. Within the lotus flower is a circle representing the full moon.


7-chakra-sahasrara 2


There is a subtle channel of energy connecting all of the chakras which corresponds to the physical spine.

Looking through this central channel from the crown chakra to the base chakra there is a symbol showing a red dot in a triangle – surrounded by a golden circle. This symbol represents the kundalini resting at the base of the spine.

Blocks in the Crown Chakra

Blocks in this chakra may cause depression, confusion, alienation, boredom and apathy.

The Chakras appear full of light when seen from within the subtle channel with the Ajna Chakra. The colors are very brilliant and the lotus flowers are beautiful. 

Meditation to Open the Seventh Chakra:

The best way to open the crown chakra is by practicing daily meditation.
Try this meditation technique to work the 7th chakra:7-chakra-sahasrara 13

Follow the Breath

Come in a comfortable position either seated on the floor or in a chair. Have the spine straight. Close the eyes and concentrate on the breath. Feel as it moves in and out of the nose. Feel as it expands the chest and stomach on the inhale, and contracts these areas on the exhale. Follow the breath with your mind. When other thoughts come into your mind, which they often will, do not allow your mind to follow them. Instead, take a brief moment to allow awareness of the thought, then let it drift away from you as you return your awareness on the breath. Continue this practice each day. Begin with 10 minute sessions, and gradually increase the time spent in this state.


After a few weeks of daily meditation it becomes easier. Your meditative and calm state will continue even after your meditation session is over.

In this way, you will gradually open the 7th chakra and allow energy to flow freely both downwards and upwards.






Sanscrit name: Sahasrara (thousand-fold)

Location: The crown of the skull

Symbol: A lotus with thousand petals

Central issue: Awareness, spiritual search for meaning, issues of karma and grace, grace bank account, spiritual awakening, divine discontent

Color: Purple, white, gold, silver

Essential Oils: Jasmine, frankincense

Crystals and Stones: Diamond, clear quartz, moldavite, selenite, pyrite

Stars and Astrological Signs: The planets Saturn and Neptune, the signs Capricorn and Pisces

Sound or mantra: AUM (sounds like Om)

Body: The soul, the karmic, causal body

Orientation to self: Self-knowledge

Goals: Wisdom, knowledge, spiritual connection, consciousness

Rights: To know

Developmental stage: Throughout life

Identity: Universal identity

Level of relationship: Relationship to our life’s true purpose, relationship between the ego and the higher self, relationship to God and spirit

Demon: Attachment

Element: Thought

Organs: The muscular and skeletal system, skin, central nervous system

Excessive: Over-intellectualization, spiritual addiction, confusion, dissociation from body

Deficient: Spiritual cynicism, learning difficulties, rigid belief systems, apathy, materialism, greed, domination of others

Balanced: Sense of spiritual connection, open-minded, wisdom and mastery, broad understanding, intelligent, thoughtful, aware, ability to perceive, analyse and assimilate information

Physical Dysfunctions: Energetic disorders, mystical depression, coma, migraines, brain tumours, amnesia, chronic exhaustion not linked to physical disorder, sensitivity to light, sound and other environmental factors

Addictions: Religion, spiritual practices

Traumas and Addictions: Spiritual abuse, forced religiosity, blind obedience, misinformation, lies, withheld information, invalidation of one’s beliefs

Spiritual challenges: Hope and faith, spiritual conscience.Spiritual quests and questions of your life: For what purpose was I born? What is truth? What is the deeper meaning of life? Can I find that? Failure to hear and respond to these questions can lead to anxiety and depression.

HEALING STRATEGY: Reestablish physical, emotional, spirit connection, spiritual discipline, meditation, examine belief systems, goal setting


I accept and acknowledge my spirituality.

Divinity resides within.

I am open to new ideas.

Information I need comes to me.

I am guided by higher power.

I am guided by inner wisdom.

The world is my teacher.